Primary tabs


Jamaica constitutes an independent Commonwealth realm. The Constitution vests executive power in the cabinet, led by the Prime Minister. Executive power is exercised by the government. Legislative power is vested both in the government and in the Parliament of Jamaica.

A bipartisan joint committee of the Jamaican legislature drafted Jamaica's current Constitution in 1962. That Constitution came into force with the Jamaica Independence Act, 1962 of the Parliament of the United Kingdom, which gave Jamaica political independence.

This page was created with the purpose of linking the materials available on the platform related to government work of Jamaica. The page does not represent an official communication channel of the country.